Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Log in


You are here: Home / About / News Releases / 2015 Skarsgard Awards Presented

2015 Skarsgard Awards Presented

Emilia Lim (Marra lab, GSC), Joseph Lau (Bernard lab, Molecular Oncology), and Katharina Rothe (Jiang lab, TFL) received Lloyd Skarsgard awards for BCCA Research Excellence.

Two of the awardees: Joseph Lau and Emila Lim with Dr. Malcolm Moore, BCCA President

The BCCA Research Excellence Prize in honour of Lloyd Skarsgard recognizes outstanding graduate students. 

History of this award: On Lloyd Skarsgard's retirement in 1998, he endowed a fund to provide a monetary prize to outstanding students trained at the BC Cancer Research Centre / BC Cancer Agency.  His vision for a Research Award was endorsed by generous contributions from many of his colleagues at the BC Cancer Research Centre and Cancer Agency. This fund is administered by the BC Cancer Foundation. Each year the BC Cancer Agency asks research supervisors to nominate their best and brightest trainees.  This year the Lloyd Skarsgard Excellence in Research Award was presented to three outstanding graduate students: Emilia Lim, Joseph Lau and Katharina Rothe on November 16th, at the Terry Fox Research Institute BC Node Research Day.

Page last modified Nov 25, 2015